Immortalised: Halmich & Holm inducted into Hall of Fame

Women’s boxing legends Regina Halmich and Holly Holm are in the International Boxing Hall of Fame and Museum Class of 2022.

December 8th, 2021

The International Boxing Hall of Fame and Museum announced Tuesday 7 December the members of the Class of 2022. Inductees include Regina Halmich (45) and Holly Holm (40) in the Women’s Modern category.

Germany’s Regina Halmich (54-1-1, 16 KOs) is among the most successful female boxers in history and was considered the 2nd best female boxer of all time by The Ring Magazine in January 2016 (Holly Holm was No 5, Lucia Rijker 1).

Halmich transitioned from a successful kickboxing career to the boxing ring in 1994, and during her reign with the flyweight title, Halmich also added the super flyweight title and light flyweight title. She defended her title an incredible 45 times.

Regina Halmich commented on the Boxing Hall of Fame honour on her Instagram:

“I am speechless with happiness! Last night I received a call from New York that I would be inducted into the International Boxing Hall of Fame in Canastota. Worldwide only 4 women have been immortalized in the Hall of Fame and I’ll be the first German after Max Schmeling to have done that.

“To be mentioned in the same breath as Mike Tyson, Klitschko, Lennox Lewis, Muhammed Ali and many other legends, I really have no words. For me as a woman it is an accolade and it moves me deeply. In 2014 I was inducted into the Women’s Boxing Hall of Fame, which was great too.

“How long have I fought for women’s rights! I am the best example that it is worth believing in your dreams. I thank all my fans, companions, friends and critics. And to all female boxers: I will accept this award on behalf of all of you.”

USA’s Holly Holm (33-2-3, 9 KOs) held titles in three different weight classes in boxing, ranging from 140 to 154 lbs.

Holm defended her championships 18 times and only lost one fight once she had reached the championship level before leaving boxing for the UFC, where she won the women’s bantamweight championship from Ronda Rousey in an iconic upset.

Holly Holm wrote on her Instagram:

“I’m sure I’ll have more to say going forward as I am a little lost for words. I am truly humbled and so honored to be acknowledged with the greats of boxing. I couldn’t chase my dreams without such a strong support system. From my coaches, family, friends, management, teammates and fans.

“I am forever grateful and also even more motivated to achieve so much more in my life. I love combat sports as it will always be a part of who I am. It’s in my blood and I love it!”

Holm and Halmich join Miguel Cotto, Roy Jones Jr., and James Toney in the Class of 2022, which will be inducted in Canastota, New York during the Hall of Fame Weekend Induction Trilogy on June 9-12, 2022.

Due to the cancellation of the two previous events, the classes of 2020, 2021, and 2022 will all be honoured.

Members of the Women’s Modern Category

2020 Christy Martin 49–7–3 (31 KOs), USA

2020 Lucia Rijker 17–0 (13 KOs), Netherlands

2021 Laila Ali 24–0 (21 KOs), USA

2021 Ann Wolfe 24–1 (16 KOs), USA