Kalle Sauerland: “We are working hard on Season III” | World Boxing Super Series
Kalle Sauerland: “We are working hard on Season III”

Kalle Sauerland: “We are working hard on Season III”

3rd, October 2020

Kalle Sauerland, Chief Boxing Officer of the WBSS, wraps up Season II of the World Boxing Super Series and looks forward to the next edition of the revolutionary bracket-style elimination tournament.

“We’ve had an amazing season,” said Kalle Sauerland. “We’ve had three super finals, three epic finals in their own right, and now we are working very hard on Season III.

“We are going to start where we left off. We will keep doing what we are doing; bringing the best against the best together! No final decisions have yet been made in terms of weight classes and timelines, but watch this space.”

Season II of the WBSS came to its conclusion last Saturday at the Plazamedia Studios in Munich when Mairis Briedis and Yuniel Dorticos clashed in the 200 lbs decider.

“It was an amazing final, an enthralling final, a very close and strategical battle,” said the WBSS CBO.

“Briedis upped the fight, he went into that extra gear in the last third and was a very worthy winner – he delivered a masterclass performance.

“Mairis Briedis not only made the sport proud but also the Ali Trophy and the nation of Latvia proud – it was probably the single greatest sporting achievement in that country’s history …

“But full credit to Dorticos as well. An incredible gladiator, he put everything into the ring at the top of his game, and he’ll be back stronger than ever I’m sure.”

Mairis Briedis is the fifth winner of the Muhammad Ali Trophy, and the Latvian joins an illustrious line of elite boxers who have won the World Boxing Super Series: Aleksandr Usyk, Callum Smith, Josh Taylor, Naoya Inoue, and Mairis Briedis are forever linked to Greatest of all Time. All five winners also claimed the prestigious Ring Magazine belt along with the Greatest Prize in Boxing.

“With Season I winners Callum Smith and Aleksandr Usyk and now with Season II champs Naoya Inoue, Josh Taylor, and Mairis Briedis we’ve answered the question of who’s the best, and we are very proud of that,” Kalle Sauerland concluded.

Subscribe to ‘Kalle’s WBSS Hangouts’ podcast to get exclusive fighter interviews and the latest on the Season III planning. Like/Subscribe on Apple Podcasts.


Muhammad Ali Trophy winners:

Season II: Josh Taylor (Super-Lightweight), Naoya Inoue (Bantamweight), Mairis Briedis (Cruiserweight)

Season I: Aleksandr Usyk (Cruiserweight), Callum Smith (Super Middleweight)